Thursday, 27 January 2022, 05:55:00 am
Pakistan bans travel from various countries amid concern over new Covid variant Omicron
November 27, 2021

The government has decided to impose travel restrictions for six South African countries and Hong Kong immediately in the wake of emergence of new variant of COVID-19.

Minister for Planning and Development Asad Umar in a tweet on Saturday said that a notification regarding travel restrictions has been issued.

He said emergence of new variant makes it even more urgent to vaccinate all citizens 12 years and older.

The countries on which ban has been imposed on direct and indirect inbound travel include South Africa, Hong Kong, Mozambique, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini and Botswana.

Meanwhile, National Command and Operation Center has urged the citizens to strictly adhere to Corovirus-related SoPs following emergence of new variant, Omicron, in various countries of the world.

In a tweet, the NCOC asked the people to ensure vaccination of both the doses, wearing of masks, follow isolaton and get tested in case of any symptoms.