British Prime Minister Theresa May has signed the letter that will formally begin the UK's departure from the European Union.


Giving official notice under the Lisbon Treaty, it will be delivered to European Council president Donald Tusk.


The letter will be delivered by the British ambassador to the EU today.


It follows the last year referendum which resulted in a vote to leave the EU.


Third-party Ads