The United Nations General Assembly has elected Sweden , Kazakhstan , Ethiopia and Bolivia as new members of the Security Council 2017.

The 193-member General Assembly elected Sweden , Kazakhstan , Ethiopia and Bolivia on Tuesday to replace Angola, Malaysia, New Zealand, Spain and Venezuela on the council from Jan. 1, 2017.

The Netherlands and Italy agreed to split the two-year term, beginning from January 1st, 2017 after they were tied with 95 votes each.

The UN Security Council is made up of 10 elected members - five voted on each year and five permanent veto-powers that include the United States, Britain, France, China and Russia. The council is the only U.N. body that can make legally binding decisions.

Third-party Ads