File Photo


Pakistan Muslim League (N) has emerged as a single largest party in the Azad Jammu & Kashmir elections with winning thirty-one seats in the forty-one members Legislative Assembly.

According to unofficial results announced by AJK Election Commission, Pakistan Peoples Party and All Jammu and Kashmir Muslim Conference have won three seats each, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf two while Jammu and Kashmir Peoples Party got one seat. An Independent candidate has also returned to the Legislative Assembly.

Meanwhile, Information Minister Pervaiz Rashid has said the people, newly-elected public representatives and institutions of Azad Kashmir deserve full appreciations for peacefully holding the Legislative Assembly elections.

In a statement, he termed the peaceful elections as a victory of democracy. 

Pervaiz Rashid said Kashmiris have responded to PML-N's critics and expressed confidence in Prime Minister Muhammad Nawaz Sharif's development vision by their votes.

He vowed that Pakistan will continue to promote the Kashmir cause under the Prime Minister's dynamic leadership.

Third-party Ads