The National Assembly on Thursday approved all 145 demands for grants relating to different ministries, divisions and departments for the next financial year.

The house rejected all the cut motions moved by the opposition members against demands for grants of some ministries and divisions.

Movers of these motions criticized WAPDA and K-Electric for their inability to reduce load-shedding, and proposed reduction of line losses and realization of receivables.

The National Assembly adopted a motion authorizing the Speaker to constitute a Parliamentary Committee to look into shortcomings of the previous elections and make recommendations for electoral reforms to ensure free, fair and transparent poll.

A motion to this effect, moved by Minister Zahid Hamid, was supported by eight parties including PML (N), PPP, PTI, JUI (F), MQM, PML(F), Jamaat-e-Islami, PML(Zia), and National Peoples Party.

The House will now meet tomorrow at ten in the morning.      

Third-party Ads