Polling for the bye-election in NA-120 constituency Lahore has concluded and now counting of votes is underway.  According to reports, polling started 8:00 am in the morning and concluded at 5:00 pm without any break.  In all forty-four candidates, including 32 independent and 12 from different political parties took part in the bye-election.  Begum Kalsoom Nawaz of Pakistan Muslim League (N), Faisal Mir from Pakistan People's Party and Dr. Yasmeen Rashid from Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf were the main contestants.  Under a pilot project, one hundred biometric verification machines were used on trial basis in 39 polling stations of the constituency. To ensure smooth and peaceful polling process, strict security measures had been made inside and outside the polling stations and fifteen hundred Army personnel will also remain vigilant till the results are announced. The Spokesperson of Election Commission of Pakistan says polling process for bye-election in the constituency of NA-120 remained peaceful. 

Analysts on Telephone

Maiza Hameed (Leader, PML-N): 

The sentiments of the people have not been reflected properly as yet. The people woke up late because of Sunday, they wanted to vote for PML-N, but they have not been facilitated to vote. The things could have been managed in much better way. There should be respect for the votes of the people. The electoral politics is root of democracy.

Jan Achakzai (Leader, PML-N):

The credit should be given to law enforcement agencies and police for conducting smooth election in NA-120. No incident took place throughout the day. We are optimist to win the elections. 

Imran Ahmed Khan (Director IT, ECP):

This is first time in the history of Pakistan that ECP has introduced biometric system on experiment basis. The purpose is to test the capacity of machines. I visited several polling stations today and saw that machines rightly verified the voters’ data from NADRA. Voters put thumbs for verification and machine tells that voters are valid or not.

Live Reports from Lahore correspondents Imran Hassan, Shazia Mushtaq and Yasir Aslam included 

Host:  Daniyal Ahmed

Co Host: Yusra Mushtaq and Maha Khan Jadoon   

Third-party Ads