The European Commission has launched legal action against three countries - the Czech Republic, Hungary and Poland for failing to respect their commitment to take in refugees.

The Commission has sent formal letters of notice to the three states giving them one month to respond to its concerns.

The letters said that they could be taken to Europe's top court, the European Court of Justice, if the matter is not resolved.

The European Union member countries agreed in September 2015 to relocate one hundred sixty thousand refugees from Greece and Italy.

Third-party Ads