THE CHIEF JUSTICE, HONOURABLE MR. JUSTICE NASIR-UL-MULK Justice Anwar Zaheer Jamali took oath as Chief Justice of Pakistan at a ceremony at Aiwan e Sadr Islamabad on Thursday.

He is 24th Chief Justice of the country.

President Mamnoon Hussain administered the oath to the new Chief Justice.

The ceremony was attended by Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, Chairman Joint Chief of Staff Committee, three services Chiefs and diplomats of different countries besides judges of the apex court, provincial Governors and federal ministers.

Justice Jamali has replaced Justice Jawwad S. Khawaja.


Justice Anwar Zaheer Jamali became judge of Sindh High Court in May 1998.

He was elevated to the post of Chief Justice of Sindh High Court in 2008. 

He became judge of the Supreme Court in August 2009. 

He was one of the judges who refused to take fresh oath under the Provisional Constitutional Order 2007.

Third-party Ads