File photo


In the United Nations, more than one hundred and twenty countries have agreed to a treaty to ban nuclear weapons.  

The treaty on the prohibition of nuclear weapons will enter into force 90 days after 50 countries have ratified it.

It was adopted with 122 votes in favor, one against and one abstention.

All nuclear-armed nations including the United States, Russia, Britain, China, France, India, Pakistan, North Korea and Israel boycotted the meeting.

Third-party Ads