File photo


The National Assembly today passed "The Elections (Amendment) Bill, 2017 to amend the Election Act 2017.

The bill was moved by Law Minister Zahid Hamid.

Speaking on the occasion, Law Minister Zahid Hamid said the declaration contained in the nominations papers has been restored in its original form through the amendment in the Act.

He clarified that nobody can think of impacting in any manner the provision regarding the finality of prophethood of Hazrat Muhammad (PBUH).

He said the amendment in the Election Act 2017 has also restored articles 7B and 7C regarding the status of Ahmadis.

Zahid Hamid pointed out that the Election Bill 2017 was framed by a joint Parliamentary Committee, which held about one hundred and twenty-five meetings in three years to reach the consensus document. 

He said Parliamentary Leaders again held a meeting yesterday in the Chamber of the Speaker to bring amendments in the Act to restore the oath in nomination papers in its original form.  

Responding to the concerns of Riaz Hussain Pirzada about media reports allegedly linking certain parliamentarians with defunct outfits, Law Minister said the cabinet meeting had taken a strong notice of the matter.

He said the Cabinet had entrusted responsibility to him to ensure legal action. He said he also contacted the DG IB who described the report as false and forged.

Minister of State for Information Marriyum Aurangzeb said the DG IB has also lodged a complaint with PEMRA on the fabricated report.

She said the findings of the PEMRA on the matter will be brought before the House and made public.

Earlier, Speaker National Assembly Sardar Ayaz Sadiq held a consultative session with parliamentary party leaders in Islamabad on Thursday on restoration of original law of Khatam-e-Nabuwat. 

Minister for Law Zahid Hamid briefed the leaders on relevant legal points. 

The meeting deliberated on amendments that are to be tabled in the National Assembly on Thursday.

Those who attended the meeting included Naveed Qamar, Barrister Zafarullah, Akram Durrani, Pir Amin-ul-Hasnat, Shah Mahmood Qureshi and Sheikh Salah-ud-Din.

Third-party Ads