The United Nations General Assembly has elected Kuwait, Ivory Coast, Equatorial Guinea, Peru and Poland as non-permanent members of the Security Council.

These will fill seats to be vacated by Egypt, Japan, Senegal, Ukraine and Uruguay on December 31. All new Council members will take their seats on January 1, 2018, for a period of two years.

Third-party Ads